Hall of Fame To Induct 4 In Class of ’15

By Erik Janss

Voters for the Baseball Writers’ Association of America elected four new members Tuesday, to the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz, and Craig Biggio made up the first class since 1955 with four members in it.

In his 22 year career, Randy Johnson won five Cy-Young awards, earned a 3.29 ERA in 618 starts. In May 2004 Johnson pitched a perfect game, and nine years later he was honored to be a first ballot Hall of Famer.

Pedro Martinez earned a spot amongst the greatest baseball players by winning 219 games, earning a 2.93 ERA while winning three Cy-Young awards and making 8 All-Star Games in his 18 year career.

The fourth former Atlanta Brave to be elected into the Hall of Fame in two years, John Smoltz, won 213 games and converted 154 of 169 save opportunities. He too was an eight time All-Star and won one Cy-Young award as well as the Closer of the year award in 2002.

Craig Biggio, the only position player in this year’s class, had over 3000 hits (3060) in 10876 career at bats, giving him a .281 average. He won 5 Silver Slugger awards, and four Gold Gloves while making seven All-Star selections.

The four members of the 2015 class will be officially inducted in July.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s